About ITS Georgia

The Intelligent Transportation Society of Georgia

What is ITS Georgia?

The Intelligent Transportation Society of Georgia is a state Chapter of ITS America. ITS America is the nation’s largest organization dedicated to advancing the research, development and deployment of Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) to improve the nation’s surface transportation system. ITS America and ITS Georgia members are organizations that believe these technologies can significantly improve the performance of our transportation system, and that have a stake in the success of ITS. The ITS stakeholder groups are typically identified as transportation agencies, transportation system users, ITS technology and service providers, and other agencies whose missions involve or are affected by the transportation system.

What is our mission?

We believe that ITS is a valuable tool for improved management of any transportation system, regardless of the inherent complexity of the system. ITS can help operate, manage, and maintain the system once it has been constructed.

We believe that ITS should be systematically incorporated into the earliest stages of project development, especially into the planning and design of transportation projects. We believe the best way to achieve this systematic incorporation into the process is through a coordinated, comprehensive program to “get out the word” on ITS to constituencies that might not otherwise consider the relevance of ITS to their transportation system.

Towards achieving this goal, the ITS Georgia Board adopted the following objectives:

  • Develop a broader ITS constituency
  • Educate policy makers (e.g., agency administrators, county commissioners, mayors, planning commissions, etc.) on benefits of continued operations and maintenance and how ITS can help.
  • Educate our members about national directions and technologies
  • Provide forums to share and coordinate ITS Georgia member missions and experiences.

Our Directors

ITS Georgia is governed by a Board of Directors elected annually by the membership.
Click here to view our current board of directors.

Joining ITS Georgia
Membership in ITS Georgia is open to any organization, agency, or company interested in furthering the use of advanced technologies towards relieving congestion, enhancing safety, minimizing the environmental impacts of our transportation system.

Click here to download a membership application.

Click here for a current W-9.

Officers and Directors



Winter Horbal, PE
Temple, Inc.



Marc Start, PE, PTOE

Tom Udell

Vice President

Tom Udell

Tom Glueckert


Tom Glueckert, P.E. , PTOE

Immediate Past President
Jenny Johnson, PE, PTOE, Kimley-Horn

Rachel Cohen, 360ns
Derrick Crowder, City of Roswell
Matt Glasser, Georgia DOT
Brook Martin, Cobb County DOT
Whitney Nottage, Intelight
Kristin Phillips, Gwinnett County DOT
Keith Rohling, Clayton County DOT
Billy Stalcup, 360ns
Dee Taylor, AECOM
Kofi Wakhisi, Atlanta Regional Commission

State Chapter Representative
Mike Holt, PE, PTOE, Stantec

Ex Officio
Greg Morris, Federal Highway Administration
Andres Ramirez, Federal Transit Administration


Here is a list of committees that help manage ITS Georgia activities, projects and official business.

2020 Annual Meeting - September 27-29, Jekyll Island
Dino Pampolina, Jacobs

Chair: Whitney Nottage
Members: Dee Taylor, Kofi Wakhisi

The Program Committee is responsible for planning the monthly chapter luncheons organizing workshops and the technical program for the annual meeting.

Past Presidents
Chair: Jenny Johnson

The Past President's Committee is comprised of ITSGA Past Presidents and will communicate to the Board of Directors through the Immediate Past-President, who will also serve as Chair of the Committee. Direct responsibilities of the committee include administering the chapter's annual recognition awards program, facilitating the chapter's annual elections process, providing advice and leadership to the Board of Directors upon their request or whenever the Committee feels this is appropriate, and assisting the Board in governing the Association based on past practices. The Committee is encouraged to meet at least once a year."

Chair: Bill Wells
Board Member Manager: Winter Horbal

The communications committee is responsible for preparing a communications plan for the year and implementing that plan. The committee coordinates outreach activities of the other committees.

Chair: Tom Udell
Board Member Manager:

The Legislative Committee is responsible for keeping track of key issues with policymakers that may affect the organization and its members.

Membership and Finance
Chair: Tom Glueckert
Members: Brook Martin, Steven Sheffield

The Membership and Finance Committee is chaired by the Chapter Treasurer and is responsible for Chapter finances and identifying and recruiting new organizations and individuals.

Networking/Social Activities (Fun)
Chair: Rachael Cohen
Members: Mary Thumaty, Shafikul Islam Shafik

The Networking/Social Activities Committee is responsible for organizing special programs to enhance member professional and personal growth.

Chair: Derrick Crowder
Board Member Managers: Keith Rohling,  Kristin Phillips

The Education/Outreach/Service Committee is responsible for outreach to public sector officials and educational institutions and providing information on ITS and its benefits. This committee also guides the chapter's philanthropic activities.

Student Chapter and Scholarship
Chairs: Matt Glasser and Jim Tolson
Members: Greg Morris, Billy Stalcup, Dee Taylor, Marc Start,

The Student Chapter and Scholarship Committee is responsible for administering the Wayne Shackelford Scholarship program and maintaining relationships with Student Chapters.

Surveys supported by